DIY Chevron Painting

Every weekend I’m inspired to tackle one art project. With the chevron print showing up all over the fashion world, I figured it couldn’t be too difficult to paint. Here’s a simple tutorial. And I apologize in advance for the low quality pictures (quick shots from the iPad).

  • blank art canvas
  • small paintbrushes
  • chevron template
  • 4-5 bottles of acrylic paint
  • cardboard
  • pencil
  • scissors

I found this free template on Billie Monster’s Blog and used the “small, thick” pattern. We just happened to have beer left in our fridge (imagine that), so I used the cardboard box from that to trace my template.

Cut your desired “thickness” and trace onto the cardboard.

Use a pencil to mark the blank canvas with your template

I picked up cheap $0.50 acrylic paint from Walmart. The light gray was leftover wall paint and worked just as well on the canvas.

I applied four coats and a few touch ups. I also wrapped the chevron pattern around the canvas so it looked finished from all angles.
And there you have it! Simple and inexpensive artwork for the home.

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

